Best Pot Roast: Marsala Pot Roast 


I’m in LOVE with this pot roast! This is the best pot roast I have made to date. You will actually want to invite friends and family over for a Sunday Dinner.

I lived on Long Island NY for 10 years, I was introduced to the Italian culture. You can’t go to an Italian Restruant and not see Chicken Marsala on the menu. One day I was missing Long Island and decided to make Chicken Marsala. I bought a bottle of wine from Trader Joes for cheap. Then I thought what else am I going to use Marsala wine for!?! I did some research and  learned the wine last a long time in the fridge. So there it sat for a couple months.

Earlier this year My Mr.Tasteful was wanting beef. So I decided I would make a pot roast. I was going to make a pot roast with red wine but I had forgotten the wine! I panicked because I had no other liquid to use besides stock, and that wasn’t even enough. I decided I take a huge gamble and put the Marsala wine in the pot roast. I was worried!

Once the pot roast was finished and I took the lid off my Dutch Oven, the smell was amazing! It was one of the best roast we have had. I’ve made this several times and I have made little edits over the past year of testing. I’m finally deciding to give you my recipe. I hope you love it as much as My Mr. Tasteful and Little Cupcake do.

*TIP: I use a small 10qt Dutch Oven Pot. Depending on size of your Dutch Oven or crock pot you may need to adjust the liquid. Attempt to cover roast half way. No need to submerge completely. If using a 12qrt increase marsal to 1 cup and chicken stock to 2.5 to 3 cups. 

“Marsala Pot Roast Recipe”

2-3 lb Boneless Chuck Roast (very important to use this cut of roast)

2 cups of chicken stock

3 tbsp unbleached flour (1 tbsp for dusting: Optional)

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp grapeseed oil

6 shakes of Worcestershire  sauce

3/4 cup Marsala wine

1/2 tsp Dried thyme

1/2 tsp Dried rosemary

1/4 + tsp Smoked Paprika ( I just give a couple shakes)

1/4+ tsp Red pepper flake (optional)

1/2 tsp Corse Sea salt

1/4 tsp Pepper

1 8oz container of Baby Bella Mushrooms

2 Small Spanish Onions (or one large onion)

6+ Garlic Cloves (Peeled)

Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees

I prefer to let roast come to room temp (1hr), however if short on time 30 minutes will help. If you forget, well then “fo’get about it” and move on to the next step

~ Stab roast with knife and insert garlic cloves into slits of beef


  

 

~ Rub 1/2 the oil onto beef then season with salt, herbs & smoked paprika. You can lightly dust roast with a little of the flour (which I choose to do this time, however not needed at this step. You can save all the flour for later)

 


  

 

~ Pre-Heat Cast iron pan for a couple minutes on a medium heat. Once pan is hot add the rest of the oil to pan and sear beef on all sides, takes about 10 minutes on a medium low heat. (If you do not have a cast iron pan, use any pan you have)

 

 


  

 

 

~ Meanwhile while searing beef, slice onions into 4ths. Layer on bottom of dutch oven. Sprinkle red pepper flakes over onions (optional)

 

 


 

~ Rinse mushrooms off in cold water. Then slice each mushroom in half. Take half the mushrooms and place ontop of onions.

 

 

 

~ Once roast is seared well on all sides remove from cast iron pan and place ontop of onions and mushrooms.

 

 

 

~ Add butter and flour to cast iron pan and cook for 1 minute. Add chicken stock 1 cup at a time while whisking. Then add Worcestershire sauce & wine continuously  whisking for a minute.

 

 


  
  

 

Place liquid  over the pot roast, cover with lid. Place into pre-heated 325 oven. Let cook for 3 to 4 hours. Time depends on the size of roast. Estimate about 1+ hour per lb. Check a 2.5lb roast after 3 hours, if roast falls apart easily when pierced with a fork, roast is done. If it does not you can continue to cook for another 30 minuets to 1 hour, checking every 30 minutes. If you are having issues with roast not falling apart, you may have bought the wrong cut of roast.

 

 


 

I love to serve this with mashpatoes and  my orange Carrots  . For the leftovers I remove the onions and serve meat and sauce over pasta.

 

 

Leave a Reply

