How to freeze blueberries or any other fruit

2014-07-09 18.53.12

Its blueberry season here in Oregon. So far this week me and my cupcake have gone picking 3 days and I have about 12lbs of blueberries plus some blackberries and strawberries. You can use this freezing method for ANYTHING you want to freeze. In fact I will have a couple other post on freezing hamburgers.

My little cupcake LOVES frozen berries! In fact when she was younger I used frozen berries for teething. I take a a few berries at a time (bc they will defrost quickly) and depending on her age i would slice in half or give blueberries whole. I would do this for a night time snack before bed and it really helped….I also find that blueberries are a great way to keep her “regular” if u know what I mean 😉

Freezing blueberries is simple, it might be a little time consuming depending on how much you are trying to freeze at once. Freezing your berries is a great way to “save” your food without needing to throw away. I don’t want to waste food and anytime I notice something may be going bad and I am not able to use it, i freeze it. Such as Onions! (check out post for “don’t throw away those onions, by clicking on this link)

If you go to a u-pick farm and know you can’t eat all those berries you just picked, freeze it! If you went to Costco and bought a big container and see they are going bad, freeze it! One tip i suggest anytime you buy berries don’t wash until you are ready to eat or freeze. Also keep berries in your refrigerator, if you leave out they spoil faster.

Some people may simply just wash and dry off the blueberries and throw into a ziplock bag, which is fine, If you don’t mind big clumps of blueberries. I don’t want that bc it forces me to grab a glob as oppose to individual pieces. That’s what i expect anytime I buy frozen veggies or fruit from the store, not globs.

1. Line cookie sheet with paper towels or a large dish towel.

2014-07-09 11.43.19

2. Wash your berries. I take a large bucket or bowl, dump in the bowl half way, then add cold water. If you have fruit/veggie cleaner, go ahead and squirt some in…or use a teaspoon of white vinegar.

3. Slosh your hand around in the bucket of water and berries, to make sure any dirt is removed. Then take a handful at a time and run under cold water, this rinses off any thing you may pick up in the water. Then place on cookie sheet that is lined with paper towel or dish towel.

4. Gently shake around the cookie sheet back and forth so berries become drier.

5. Place berries in a dry bucket or bowl (of course if you have more then one cookie sheet, just get out another cookie sheet and skip this step).

6. Line cookie sheet with plastic wrap. Then place washed and dried berries ontop of plastic wrap.

2014-07-09 11.58.10 2014-07-09 11.59.16

7. Place cookie sheet in freezer. If you have more then one cookie sheet, I like to use my cookie rack and place ontop of one cookie sheet and stack with another cookie sheet for space. Let berries set in freezer for at least 2+ hours. I have left mine overnight until I am able to get to my berries.

2014-07-09 11.59.49 2014-07-09 12.08.10

8. Place berries in individual freezer zip-lock bags. I like to place 2 to 3 cups of berries in individual bags, but you can do big gallon bags if you want. I just like only removing small quantities from freezer to lesson chance of defrosting the other berries I don’t need.

2014-07-09 18.52.08 2014-07-09 18.53.12

9. Place back into freezer immediately.

That’s it, easy peasy!

Now you are ready for eating your frozen berries or using to bake some pie, bread, muffins or scones! Of course I like to use my frozen berries for smoothies or making ice cream. Blueberry Scones

 

 

Leave a Reply

