Make ahead Breakfast served with a punch…of protein: Oatmeal and Red Quinoa

2014-04-06 19.14.42

My last post New Journey: Dealing-with-endometriosis

I shared I was on a new path and I was going to take small steps in changing my health through eating differently in order to combat Endometriosis. Before I continue this breakfast is good for anyone and i recommend it even if you don’t have ENDO.

The Endometriosis “diet” is hard in my opinion, anything is doable but I can not do it all at once. Its Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Sugar Free, Soy free, no red meat, no egg, no alcohol and no caffeine….I admit that sounds HORRIBLE! As you can imagine someone who LOVES sugar, breads and really everything that I am not suppose to eat is not something I can do. Perhaps if I was given 1 year to live I would attempt it all but thankfully that is not my diagnoses. I have not come down with my exact plan, but I do plan to start adding items into my eating routine, as oppose to 1st starting to eliminate items. I believe once I can find items I enjoy and make me feel better 1st then I will be able to eliminate other items much easier because I found something to replace. My other goal is not be completely FREE of all the items I should avoid, however I will make cut backs. I also plan on trying to be “free” during certain parts of the month, such as, the 7 days before my cycle is due,  no sugar alcohol and gluten. I do plan to eat red meat once a month, I need that type of protein for my anemia. Therefore once I finish my cycle I will have a good source of red meat to rebuild….at least this in my plan in theory at this point.

My 1st step was breakfast, one I need to eat breakfast! My issue is the grab and go options are limited and there are times where I am either not feeling well or I’m just rushing.  My SIL “Audrey” told me she started eating Red Quinoa for breakfast. Quinoa seems to have become the new thing, and rightfully so is full of protein, 1/4 cup  equals about 6 grams of protein, not sure if that is cooked or uncooked because it doesn’t say on my bag of quinoa. Quinoa also contains magnesium (Magnesium helps to relax blood vessels) which is something that is on the list to help improve the symptoms of Endometriosis. Oatmeal is a good source of Calcium along with Almonds which are good substitutes when you are doing less dairy products. Therefore this is why I decided to try this as my go to breakfast.

I was at Trader Joe’s and in the frozen section they had a pre-made Oatmeal and Quinoa sweetened with brown sugar and maple. Well i’m not suppose to have sugar, so that wouldn’t work for me. PLUS there were only 2 pkgs in the box so I would really need to stock up and I didn’t want to do that….but it would be a good alternative if you wanted to. So I decided to make my own breakfast and enough to last 3 days. You could freeze in portions, however there is no real need if you are going to eat everyday. However if you don’t plan on eating it everyday then I would portion it out into 3/4 cup servings and freeze in a microwavable container.

I decided to make my 1st batch after dinner was all cleaned up. I cooked oatmeal and the quinoa separately because of the cooking times and textures.

2014-04-06 18.31.40

Red Quinoa:

1/2 cup of quinoa

1 & 1/4 cup of water

Bring both to a boil and then place lid on, turn temperature to low and cook until water is evaporated, about 20 minutes.

2014-04-06 18.31.35 2014-04-06 18.35.30 2014-04-06 19.09.54

 

Oatmeal:

1 tsp Organic Coconut oil

1 cup Gluten Free Rolled Oats (If you are just using this recipe for the protein you can use the regular rolled oats)

2 & 1/2 cups of water

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon (buy a good quality brand)

2 tsp Local honey (buy local honey or organic honey)

1/4 cup dried cranberries

Bring water to a slight simmer then add oats, coconut oil, salt and turn temperature down to low and let simmer for 5 minutes. Once oats have plumped add honey and cinnamon. Turn heat off and let sit.

2014-04-06 18.29.02 2014-04-06 18.30.00 2014-04-06 18.32.42 2014-04-06 18.34.01 2014-04-06 18.38.17 2014-04-06 18.38.42 2014-04-06 18.42.22 2014-04-06 19.10.34 2014-04-06 19.11.39

Once quinoa is finished cooking add to oatmeal and mix. Let mixture cool then place in seal proof container. When ready to eat take 3/4 of cup for serving. You can add a non dairy milk (almond or coconut milk) and eat cold or heat in microwave to desired temp about 1-2 minutes. Top with Walnuts or Crushed almonds and little extra dried cranberries or fruit such as blueberries (frozen or fresh). If not sweet enough add a little extra honey.

2014-04-06 19.14.32-1 2014-04-06 19.19.27

 

Leave a Reply

