Deep Dish Spinach Corn Quiche

20140320-103351.jpg

My Mr Tasteful loves quiches. It hit me I haven’t made a quiche in awhile, why not? I think I though eggs cost to much. Then I took a moment and realized I was WRONG!!! Granted eggs, milk and cheese have really gone up in price. But regardless of this fact it’s still less expensive then buying meat or poultry. I was at Trader Joes and for the longest time 1 dozen eggs cost $1.69, the price went up to $1.99!! But still this is cheap!!! You can feed your family a protein healthy meal for far less. So I’ll be adding quiches back into my family meal planning.

I also realized the other reason I haven’t made quiches is because of pie crust. I choose to buy a pre-made pie dough from Trader Joes. Making your own pie crust is a much more cost effect way. It doesn’t take much, flour, ice water, salt and butter. Making your own pie crust probably cost you a $1.00 verse the $3.99 it cost me to buy the pre-made. My day was running late and I needed the food shortcut regardless of the extra cost.

Now prepping your quiche is not time consuming however it does take between 45-60 minutes to bake. I use a deep dish pie container. Therefore my quantity of eggs in my recipe may be a lot if you have a small pan.

The other day I went to Life Source, a natural local grocer. They have a hot food bar with deliciousness. My eye was immediately drawn to their Spinach Corn soufflé. It looked sooooo good! I had forgotten my wallet at home and I didn’t want to bother my SIL Audrey to spot me the money. I was hoping my taste buds would stop thinking about the deliciousness I just saw, however I couldn’t let it go. So I got my wallet and headed to the store regardless of the time being 4pm (hubby home at 5).

Deep Dish Spinach Corn Quiche
1 Deep Dish Pie Crust
6 oz of Fresh Baby Spinach (or a box of frozen spinach defrosted)
1/8 cup diced onion
1/3 cup Corn (I used half can or use frozen)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (mild is less oily)
3 garlic cloves minced
10 eggs
3 TBSP Plain Yogurt
3 TBSP Milk
2 TBSP Water
1 TBSP Potato Starch (this is a gluten free flour. You can use regular flour, even wheat would be good.)
Salt & Pepper (I use fresh ground pink salt and crushed black pepper)

Pre Heat oven to 375

Layout pie crust in pie dish place back into fridge.

In a sauté pan add 2 tsp butter on medium low heat. Sauté onion until translucent, then add mined garlic and spinach. Stir around until spinach is wilted.

20140320-101100.jpg

20140320-101121.jpg

20140320-101153.jpg</

Next add corn and season with a couple turns of salt and pepper.

20140320-101350.jpg

20140320-101411.jpg

Next measure out yogurt and milk then sprinkle in potato starch (or flour) and whisk well. Crack eggs into bowl and then add water. Whisk all together for 1-2 minutes to help fluff egg mixture. You could use a electric egg beater.

20140320-101629.jpg

20140320-101824.jpg

Take pie crust out of fridge and layer half cheese and spinach corn mixture to bottom of pie dish. Next add egg mixture, making sure to keep a 1 inch gap from top of pie crust. Next add rest of cheese and spinach corn mixture.

20140320-102159.jpg

20140320-102218.jpg

20140320-102236.jpg

Place pie dish on a cookie sheet. Make sure oven has been pre heated to 375 and oven rack is in the middle. Next take cookie sheet with pie dish and place in oven. Bake for 45-60 minutes until middle of quiche is set (not jiggling) I recommend checking quiche at the 45 minute mark and if necessary insert middle with a knife. If still runny bake for another 10-15 minutes.

Once quiche is finished baking remove from oven and let cool for 10-15 minutes. Slice and serve.

20140320-103000.jpg

20140320-103019.jpg

Leave a Reply

