Easy Chicken Enchilada Soup

20140122-185159.jpg

This is a quick and tasty soup. Great way to use up your leftover chicken. I buy rotisserie chicken from Costco about once a week. Depending on what I’m going to use the chicken for I usually have 1-2 cups worth of chicken. I was wanting to try a new idea for using the leftovers and had been debating what to do.

My sister in-law the “Professor” and I were chatting today and she told me she was going to make Chicken Enchilada soup, a recipe my other sister in-law had provided. The recipe sounds tasty however I have a issue using the Ranch Dressing powder package it called for. One reason simply was because of the cost for the packet which simply is garlic and onion powder mixed with other things I’m not sure of. I personally haven’t tried the recipe but I’ve heard it’s good.

My goal was to try to make up my own recipe. I’ve been on a Rotel and V8 juice kick with almost all my tomato base soups, so I figured why change!?!

I must of had 3 bowls of this soup, I’m stuffed!

The good thing about this recipe is you can use leftover chicken or sauté up some chicken to be added to soup. You also can use whatever your favorite bean is or what you have on hand such as Black, Pinto, Navy or Kidney beans.

I hope you enjoy.

Easy Chicken Enchilada Soup
1/2 onion, diced
1/2 green bell pepper, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 tsp dried thyme
1/4 tsp cumin
1 cup frozen corn (or drain 1 can of corn)
2 cups diced chicken
1 can of Red Kidney Beans
1 10oz can of enchilada sauce
1 can of Rotel (there is original and mild version, depending on your spice preference)
1 can chicken broth
10oz (or 1 & 1/4 cup)  of Spicy V8 juice, or use Regular for less spice. (I use enchilada can to measure out)
10oz (or 1 & 1/4 cup)  of water (again use enchilada can to measure)
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 tsp oil

Using a large stock pot add oil and heat on medium temperature for 30 seconds then add onion, green bell pepper and let sauté for 2 minutes. Next add thyme, cumin and a dash of salt and pepper. Let sauté for 1 minute. Then add garlic and sauté for another minute.

20140122-184304.jpg

Next add everything else to pot…corn, Rotel, water, chicken broth, V8, enchilada sauce, beans, and diced chicken.

20140122-184815.jpg

20140122-184829.jpg

Let simmer on medium low for 30 minutes then turn to low and simmer for an additional 15-30 minutes.

If you want you can always grab your crock-pot instead. Its even easier, skip the saute step and just dump everything into crock and let it simmer on high between 5-7 hours (depending on how hot your crock-pot cooks) or 7-9hrs on low (depending on how hot crock-pot cooks).
Serve with grated cheese, cilantro, avocado for a tasty finish. If you don’t have avocado you don’t need to add.
You could even top with tortilla chips and sour cream.

20140122-185215.jpg

Leave a Reply

