Quick Idea: Easy Lettuce Cups using Rotisserie Chicken

20140115-212413.jpg

My 1st experience with lettuce cups was at the Cheesecake Factory. I was addicted!!! I’ve wanted to make lettuce cups and I’ve tried a couple times however it always felt so complicated. So I was on a mission to make it easy and inexpensive.

On my Costco trip today I needed to pickup my coffee beans and decided to get a Rotisserie Chicken for $5.00. I was going to make a salad and serve along rice then it dawned on me, I should just make lettuce cups!?! I took half the chicken and just shredded the chicken into long strips, breast, thigh and leg.

20140115-185800.jpg

I picked up a English cucumber and red bell pepper. I was debating a pre-cut bag of cold slaw mix but looking at the price and what I would get I decided against it. I wasn’t sure how it would all work out just using cucumbers and red pepper. I realized it wouldn’t be complete without some fresh cilantro.

I bought a sweet chili sauce from Trader Joes and knew this would be the perfect complement, along with a peanut butter satay.

Rice: I use a medium size grain rice

20140115-210324.jpg

I just eyed everything to make the satay…this is just a general guide but I’m sure you could google a recipe.

1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup of hot water (more if needed to thin out)
1/4 tsp red chili flakes
1 clove of garlic
1 tsp brown sugar
Fresh squeezed lime juice (1/2 lime)
2 tsp soy sauce.

To use Hearts of Romain lettuce for a cup you’ll want to cut near the end of the head. Save the other half for something else, like shredded lettuce in tacos. (Make sure to wash off in cold water and drain)

20140115-211239.jpg

That’s it, simple! One thing I forgot to get was green onions, that would finish up the Lettuce Cups.

Lettuce Cups
2 Hearts of Romain Lettuce
2 cups of White Rice (cooked)
1/2 red bell pepper sliced long thin
1/2 English cucumber sliced thin
Cilantro
1/2 rotisserie chicken shredded
Sweet Chili Sauce
Satay

20140115-212359.jpg

20140115-212553.jpg

Leave a Reply

