Easy No-Boil Skinny Chicken Parmesan “Dutch Oven” Casserole

20140114-191125.jpg

It’s a mouth full of a tiltle, but that’s because there is so much going on that you must know!!

I’ve been making my version of “skinny” chicken parmesan for awhile. Basically it’s a skillet seared chicken with no breading and it’s one of my go to meals and one of My Mr.Tasteful favs. Click HERE for recipe post.

One of my fav Food Bloggers is Chef John from Food Wishes. He inspired me to make my own spin on a chicken casserole.

It was a debate for me as to what oven bakeware I would use, a 9×13 dish or something else? I chose to use my Dutch Oven, why? The idea of a pot would allow the liquid to puddle more in the middle therefore not requiring as much liquid was my theory. I also chose my Dutch Oven because I was out of foil and I could use a lid….resourcefulness kicked in.

I debated with the idea to lightly sear the chicken or leave raw and I think searing is a step you don’t want to skip. The key is not to cook it all the way just a little to sear in the flavors.

Pasta: You will need to use a thin or small noodle why I choose Pennette, which is Penna but the smaller version to speed the cooking time.

Chicken: I used chicken breast however if all you have is chicken tenders or chicken thighs I think it’s a great alternative. I used 3 chicken breast and for portion control that should feed 4/5 people.


Easy No-Boil Skinny Chicken Parmesan Dutch Oven Casserole

3 Chicken breast
1 Tsp Italian seasoning (or make your own: thyme, rosemary, basil and oregano)
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp smoked paparika
1 28oz can Marinara Sauce (your favorite brand)
1/2 cup bread crumbs (Panko, seasoned or make your own)
1/8 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 16oz pkg Pennette Pasta (petite Penna)
1 15oz can chicken stock
1/4 cup water
2 cups of mozzarella cheese
Salt & Pepper to taste

Pre-heat oven to 350

First: Lightly oil chicken then add 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning, the smoked paparika, garlic & onion powder and S&P to taste. Then pan sear on medium high, about 1-2 minutes per side. Then slice into large chunks.

Deglaze pan by adding the can of chicken stock to pan and scrap the pan so all bits are mixed into stock.

20140114-184544.jpg

Add pasta, chicken stock, water, Marinara sauce, other 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning, and toss to coat pasta. Then add cubed chicken ontop. Top with lid and place in pre-heated oven and cook for 30 minutes.

20140114-184909.jpg

While your are waiting prep bread crumbs. I made my own. Then tossed with 1/2 tsp olive oil parmesan cheese and salt & pepper and mix until well combined.

20140114-185347.jpg

20140114-185402.jpg

After 30 minutes take out of oven and stir around. Then top with half of bread crumbs 1 cup of mozzarella cheese, then add the rest of bread crumbs and cheese. Place back into oven and bake for another 10-15 minutes uncovered.

20140114-185904.jpg

Serve hot and enjoy.

20140114-190803.jpg

20140114-190814.jpg

20140114-193149.jpg

Leave a Reply

