Quick Baking Tip: Potato Water

Potato is a inexpensive way to create helpful results when it comes to baking breads or cooking soup. I like to use potato water in place of flour to thicken soups where I don’t want chunks of potatoes but I need a thickening agent.

More often then not I always use potato water when I bake bread, why? That’s my “secret” to making my bread soft and adds to the shelf life of the bread. If you go to all that work to make bread you want it to last!

I came across recipes using potato flakes to make breads softer. I don’t keep potato flakes in my pantry but I do keep Russet Potatoes in my pantry! It’ a great way to cut cost and a money saving tip.

Because I’m constantly adding recipes for bread I decided to create a separate post for potato water so I don’t need to overwhelm you all with potato water instructions every time.

It’s very simple to make potato water.
You only need one russet potato and water. That’s cheap! Cheaper then potato flakes. I have tried red potato and gold potato, I really prefer the starch of the russet potato. I found red/gold potatoes made a gummy water. Not that it didn’t work I actually got good results however I found it was thicker and can make my measurements off.

You need:
1-2 Russet Potatoes
4 Cups of cold water

Peel and dice potato into small even pieces. Place into a pot and add 4 cups of water. Boil water on medium high for 15-20 minutes. Drain the potatoes, reserving the water.

20130812-161819.jpg

20130812-161834.jpg

20130812-161850.jpg

20130812-161908.jpg

Leave a Reply

