Pan Seared Tomato Frittata

20130808-122516.jpg

Just because you live on a budget doesn’t mean you can’t make it feel more sophisticated! I think learning to cook simple foods in a way that creates a visual appeal is what keeps me at home cooking. This is a easy dish for bunch to share with friends or family. Or to make your loved one breakfast in bed. Of course you could be like me and just make you and your little cupcake a special breakfast mid week. Even use this dish as a meatless night dinner.

My main focus for this dish is the tomatoes & eggs. So experiment with what you have on hand already. If you want to feel like you had a 5 star breakfast experience on a $2 budget, please try pan seared tomatoes.

Typically frittata is started in a pan on the stove top and finished in the oven. You can do that if you choose. With my directions I don’t use oven I use a lid and I flip.

Have you had pan seared tomatoes? They are so good!! Of course with this being tomato season you will save a lot of money on this dish.

I never had pan seared tomatoes and one day I was watching a show on the Cooking Channel called “French Food at Home”, I believe it was the peasant episode that featured pan seared tomatoes. I had to try it! I tested the idea on my Mama Bear & my SIL “Audrey Hepburn” this past winter. I made gluten free Parmesan eggplant layered between goat cheese and pan seared tomatoes. It was so good!!!!!

So this morning I was looking through my fridge and had no milk for cereal and all I saw were some eggs. Then I saw the tomatoes and had to sear them up. I decided to make a frittata and I happened to have gruyere & Swiss cheese mixture I bought from Trader Joes. I debated what seasonings to go with the tomatoes thyme or rosemary? I went with rosemary because I enjoy the calming effect it can have on you. You could do anything you want.

Serves: 1-2. If you want to feed 4 people use a larger skillet and double recipe and use 8 eggs.

3 large eggs
1/2 tsp water
1 tsp grape seed oil
1 tsp butter
Tomatoes sliced in half (I used 16 grape tomatoes)
1/4 tsp dried rosemary
1/2 tsp minced onion (I used red)
Swiss & Gruyere shredded cheese (I used about 3 TBSP)
Shredded Parmesan cheese (whatever amount you want, I used about 2 tsp)
Salt & Pepper for seasoning

Slice tomatoes in half

Pre-heat a non stick small omelet pan on medium heat. Once pan is warm add 1/2 tsp of oil & 1/2 tsp butter to pan and add dried rosemary. Turn temperature to medium high (7 on eclectic) and once bubbles add 8 your tomatoes (sliced in half) facing cut side down. Let sear for 3-5 minutes. Do not touch tomato to check for searing until after 2 minutes. If you move around this will effect searing.

20130808-115329.jpg

20130808-115344.jpg

Crack eggs into a bowl and add water, whisk at least 72 strokes.

20130808-115649.jpg

Next: once tomatoes have seared for 2 minutes add minced onion. If you find temperature is to hot turn to medium at this time. Let cook for another 1-3 minutes.

20130808-115937.jpg

Remove pan from burner and let cool for 30 seconds then pour eggs over tomatoes. If tomatoes move around take a fork and reposition to spread around evenly.

20130808-120120.jpg

Let cook on a low medium heat (3 on electric burner) for 1 minute then sprinkle half the cheeses on-top. Cover with a lid (it’s okay if lid goes to other pot, just find one that fits or is bigger then pan) and let cook until egg starts to firm (3-5 minutes). In the mean time while you are waiting for eggs to firm up, in a separate pan sear more tomatoes to top frittata when done.

Once egg seems firm in the middle, it’s okay if a soft, you are going to flip frittata.

20130808-120530.jpg

20130808-120539.jpg

20130808-120553.jpg

20130808-120603.jpg

To flip take a large plate and place over skillet pan. Then flip over and slide the bottom side into pan (use a spatula to help you). Let the bottom side sear for about 1-2 minutes. Then take plate place over pan and flip over onto plate.

20130808-120914.jpg

20130808-120924.jpg

20130808-120937.jpg

20130808-120950.jpg

Top frittata with the rest of the cheeses and add more pan seared tomatoes to finish it off. I served mine along with english cucumbers. I made it feel more sophisticated by using my Aunts anniversary china she gave me last year.

20130808-122454.jpg

One thought on “Pan Seared Tomato Frittata

Leave a Reply

