Quick Idea: Blueberry Scones

20130807-134305.jpg

It’s blueberry season!! If you can find a “u-pick” farm near where you live I highly recommend it. I used this link to find some u-pick farms near me Pick Your Own

I was at Trader Joes Monday night after a busy day running around with my Little Cupcake. I had gone out at 8pm to Fred Myers to return a watermelon that had gone bad and because it cost almost $7.00 I had to return it. Thankfully FM is a great and do not give me issues about already cutting into it. So I’m driving past TJ and my car just automatically turned into the parking lot. I was so tired I must of thought I was home because as I was walking into the store I realized I grabbed my grocery bag from another store and took into TJ. Of course I turned around to put it back in the car.

I walk to the snack station (so smart every store needs this) and they were offering a sample of their you bake Blueberry Scones. I was sooooo tempted to buy the box. It would be less expensive to buy theirs then go to Starbucks for one but I just didn’t want to spend the $3.00.

As I’m driving home I just can’t get over how tasty these scones where! I had already eaten dinner so it wasn’t my tummy talking to me. The next morning I still was craving these scones!!

I was on the hunt for a recipe. I was searching all over Pinterest and then I realized just search for Americas Test Kitchen! That’s what I did and I found a recipe from another blogger Home Cooking Montana and decided to try it.

I decided to go pick blueberries as a cost savings. We went to a house on Haven Hill that Cinderella of 3 told me about for picking blueberries. It’s slow season for them so they did not have very many berries. I was able to pick just enough for the scones, with a few leftover.

I made some adjustments to the recipe. The recipe called for Whole Milk, I used half and half because I have so much of it. I used 1/4 cup of honey in place of the 1/2 cup of white sugar, just to try a different approach. I also added 2 TBSP of brown sugar. The honey & brown sugar I treated as a “wet” ingredient. My other addition was adding 1 tsp of fresh squeezed lemon juice.

Now depending on how sweet you like your scones will depend on how much you like my changes. My scones were not overly sweet and that’s how I wanted it.

This recipe was easy!! Americas Test Kitchen users a technique I also use for making pie crust. Grating frozen butter with a cheese grater. Now I have no idea if I came across this idea a couple years ago from them and I inadvertently started doing this OR if was truly just an idea I had because my mind works like a inventor for food!?! The point is regardless of who’s idea it was its a great tip and you’ll never not want to make your own scones or Pie Crust .

For Americas Test Kitchen please click on Secrets to making Scones feed for great step by step directions.

Again for complete recipe please see
Home Cooking in Montana link

My Little Cupcake loves to help!

20130807-133824.jpg

I decided to use my cast iron skillet to bake half of my scones.

20130807-133930.jpg

The other half I froze then placed in a ziplock bag to bake another time.

20130807-134026.jpg

20130807-134034.jpg

20130807-134334.jpg

Leave a Reply

