Quick Idea: Ramen Noodles with Veggies & Egg. “Here I come to Save the Day”

20130731-080647.jpg

“Here I come to Save the Day! Top Ramen is on their way. Yes sir, when there’s a wrong to right Top Ramen is on the way!”

That’s how the song goes, right? Well for any of you “older folk” like me, you might recognize that oldie as Mighty Mouse. Great cartoon!

So is Ramen noodles comparable to the Great Mighty Mouse? Absolutely not! However Ramen has saved the day in this house!

I grew up on Top Ramen as a kid and in our house we ate a fairly healthy diet. We weren’t allowed to have sugar and ate tons of salad, are biggest excitement was the salad bar when we would go out. We ate organically when we got older and my Mama Bear cooked from scratch. When you have teenagers in your house who don’t seem to get stuffed easily you eat the ramen, so that was our after school snack or at home alone meal.

My Mr.Tasteful also grew up on Ramen noodles. My sister in-law “Florence Nightingale” was reminiscing about how they enjoyed Mama Ramen noodles and it brought back so many good memories she surprised us with a case of Ramen noodles from a local Asian market. I admit they do taste much better then the Top Ramen brand. We got the case last year and have been eating on the noodles for several months when we are pinching pennies. It’s saved me from going to the store and has saved me time too.

Is this the most healthy food to eat? No of course not, It’s high in sodium and I’m sure it has other chemicals in the “artificial flavoring” seasoning packet like MSG or something like that. If you are new to my blog and the title “from scratch” has you thinking I cook everything from scratch, that’s not necessarily my topic of focus. Even though I do cook from scratch most often, from scratch means learning how to budget a new lifestyle compared to what we had before. This is a quick idea that is easy on the budget and takes a matter of minuets to prepare.

Because of the seasoning packets and all the unhealthy attributes it has, I only use 2 seasoning packets out of the three ramen noodle packets. At least thats how I rationalized making this “healthier”. I’m not looking to make this a soup but more just wet noodles. I decided to add more flavoring and was scouring my fridge. I found Oyster sauce. Before dumping it into the seasoned water I tested it, I thought it really added some great flavor! So if you want to add some extra depth of flavor buy Oyster sauce. Ill be making stir-fry for you one day and you’ll need it then :0)

In order to add some “healthy” attributes to this ramen I added frozen vegetables. It’s a pantry basic to have frozen vegetables and perfect addition to have for ramen. A friend of mine “K-Pop” is really starting to expand her knowledge in all things Korean. Living in NY I was exposed to great cultures and tried many different ethnic foods. I use to watch Korean & Indie Films whenever I could rent or watch on TV. I also have Netflix now and have watched a few series. My friend “K-Pop” got me to stray away from all my BBC movies I’ve been watching and go back to Korean series. In the series there is a lot of Ramen noodles being eaten. Sometimes eggs are added so this is where the idea to add the egg came from. Which is great protein.

For ramen noodles there are lots of brands if you go to an Asian market. We have the Mama brand and it has a spicy hot seasoning packet of cayenne pepper (or some hot powder). At your local grocery store typically there is the Top Ramen brand. Price for a packet of Ramen averages between $.25-$.60 each. So for $.75 or more that’s really inexpensive cost. Add as little or as much frozen veggies & a egg and it’s probably cost you less then $3.00 to feed a family of 3 or 4 people (depending on portions).

3 Packets of Ramen Noodles
2 of seasoning ramen packets
1/4 cup frozen corn
1/8 cup frozen peas
1/4 cup frozen leaf spinach
1 TBSP Oyster Sauce
4 to 5 cups of water
4 to 6 fried eggs (1 to 2 fried eggs per person)

Fill a pot with water and let come to a boil. Once water has come to a boil turn temperature down to a medium simmer. Add seasoning flavor packets, oyster sauce and frozen vegetables and let simmer for 5 minutes or until vegetables no longer frozen.

20130731-074734.jpg

20130731-074749.jpg

20130731-074800.jpg

20130731-074817.jpg

20130731-074825.jpg

While waiting for vegetables to warm through. Fry your eggs and put aside when done.

20130731-075053.jpg

Once frozen vegetables are no longer frozen turn temperature down to low and add noodles. Let cook for 3-5 minuets.

20130731-075233.jpg

20130731-075301.jpg

20130731-075309.jpg

Once ramen noodles are tender serve in a bowl and top off with a egg. If I had green onions I would add that too!

20130731-080716.jpg

You might be wondering as a New Mom does my Little Cupcake eat what we eat? Yes, often she eats what I make. If for some strange reason she doesn’t I do giver her Cheerios & milk.

Leave a Reply

