Crunchy Black Bean, Avocado with Fresh Corn Quesadillas

20130729-231309.jpg

It’s the end of the month for us so I’m digging through my pantry looking for a inexpensive meal. I’m thankful I always stock my pantry with the Pantry Basics and it really helps especially when the budget is tight for the week.

I’ve decided to make homemade tortillas to save an extra $2.00. I do buy pre-made flour tortillas if I’m in a rush with no time to spare. However making your own tortillas is not as time consuming as I use to think. It takes about 45 minutes. If you are thinking this is to much time, just remind yourself you are making something from scratch and your family can appreciate that extra step. For recipe tutorial please click here DIY Flour Tortillas

My Sister In-Law “Audrey Hepburn”  showed me a new way to fry up a quesadilla instead of using oil, spread on the butter! It taste sooo good using either flour OR corn tortillas and the crunch is really much better in my opinion.

Avocados and fresh eared corn are a good deal to buy right now because of the season. So you will find this is a budget friendly meal compared to making this meal during the winter.

Hass Avocados: Cost about $1.00 each.

Eared Corn: Average cost between $.50-1.00 each. I bought corn from a local grower and it was on the costly side for $1.00 however totally worth it because the corn has amazing sweetness and flavor.

Black Beans: Depending on the type of beans you buy will depend on the cost. I bought my generic Safeway brand because there was a “just for u” price of $.63 a can. I stock up on this price especially because it’s summer and I’m more apt to buy cans for a quick fix. You could buy dried beans and cook yourself then freeze which is a great cost savings too.

To flavor the black beans you can use the Goya packet I’ve indicated in recipe or if you rather just season from scratch, I like to dice up at least 2TBSP of onion, add 2 TSP Cumin dash of ground cloves and dice 2 garlic cloves. Typically this is how I cook my basic black beans and depending on what I have in my pantry depends on what I use.

Recipe: Serves 4

2 cans of Black Beans
1 Goya Seasoning packet “Con Culantro Y Achiote” (or read alternative seasonings under black beans section above)
1 cup of Water
1 TSP dried cumin powder
2 Hass Avocado
1 Ear of Corn
8 Flour Tortillas
Butter
2 Cups of Cheddar Cheese

First drain black beans place in a saucepan with 1 can full of water (1 cup) add packet of Goya & Cumin seasoning. Place on a low-medium simmer and cook for 30 minutes or until water reduces.

20130729-225009.jpg

Slice avocado in half and remove pit. Then slice into small slivers and remove skin.

20130729-225356.jpg

Slice corn off of ear.

20130729-225454.jpg

Once black beans are tender and water has reduced to half, it’s time to assemble.

Pre-heat pan on medium temperature.
Butter one side of each tortillas. Place 1st tortilla butter side down. Then layer with Avocado, Fresh Corn, handful of Cheese, Black Beans then place 2nd tortilla butter side up. Cook for 1-2 minutes. Once bottom tortilla has turned to a light crispy brown flip over and cook for another 1-2 minutes or until brown.

20130729-230542.jpg

20130729-230558.jpg

20130729-230614.jpg

20130729-230626.jpg

20130729-230642.jpg

20130729-230700.jpg

Serve hot! I like to top mine with some extra crunch using ice berg lettuce and creaminess with sour cream.

20130729-231219.jpg

20130729-231247.jpg

Leave a Reply

