Chicken Stock

20130521-150720.jpg

I’ve learned great tips from my favorite food blogger Chef John from FoodWishes.
FoodWishes Chicken Stock video

Now I took his tips and just use leftover chicken pieces by cutting up a whole chicken or I will save the carcass after Ive roasted a whole chicken. Of course I don’t throw away the carcass I buy from Costco, might as well save that Rotisserie chicken too.

There is no real recipe just a guide I use when making my own stock.

Carcass/Bones: I have a large 20 quart stock pot and I wait until I have at least 2 or 3 chicken carcasses. I also have an average size pot that comes in pot set, 10 quart pot. With the smaller pot I only use 1 carcass or ill just use cut up pieces from splitting a whole chicken.

Water: Depending on how many pieces of chicken and veggies I have determines how much water I use. My measurement of water is enough water to cover whatever amount of ingredients I have plus a extra 1/2 to 1 inch over.

Veggies: I use what I have the basic 3 celery, carrots, yellow/spanish onions & garlic cloves (if I have). Beyond that I don’t use anything else. Do not cut veggies into small pieces. I split mine in half with my hands and throw into pot. Onions I cut into quarters.

Onion & Garlic Skin: Cut the ends off and I use the yellow onion brown skin, I do not throw away. Why? Because it adds natural color to stock, pretty golden color. I also do not peel the garlic and leave the wrapper/skin on.

Salt: Do not salt your stock. Wait until your stock is used to for cooking. This allows you to control the sodium in your recipes.

Pepper: I do not add peppercorns or pepper when making my stock I find it colors the water. Plus I have more control as a flavoring agent by waiting until I use the stock to cook.

Herbs: I only add dried thyme to chicken stock and a bay leaf if I have. I find it doesn’t matter if I add herbs. Again this is a flavoring agent and depends if I want the flavor of herbs in other recipes. If I use dried thyme I add a pinch between 1/8-1/4 tsp.

Cooking Time: Low & slow is the best method for making a stock. Depending on how much stock you are making will depend on how much time. When I use my 20 quart stock pot I simmer at least 8 hours. If I use a smaller 10 quart pot about 6 hours. If I use a small sauce pan (like a giblet stock base) 2 hours. I place temperature at a medium heat then once it starts to simmer turn to low. You don’t want to boil because this mixes in the impurities into the water causing the broth to turn grey and cloudy.

For my 20 quart stock pan I used:
-3 frozen or fresh chicken carcass (some had leftover meat on it). No need to defrost if using frozen.
-5 small organic carrots
-3 celery ribs plus heart and leafs
-2 large yellow/spanish onion
-4 garlic cloves the small ones that ate a pain to peel.
-1/4 tsp dried thyme
-water enough to cover.

20130521-150801.jpg

20130521-150836.jpg

Leave a Reply

