Quick Idea: Make your own pasta by hand

I really enjoy Americas Test Kitchen tips and recipes. Sometimes I find them a little complicated but still get valuable ideas from them.

I was watching their video for Ultimate Italian on Monday. I’ve wanted to make my own pasta for a long time, I just never found the right instructions to motivate me until I watched this video.

Americas Test Kitchen Ultimate Italian

I did my own recipe following their basic principles. This was my recipe I came up with for pasta dough.

2/3 cup bread flour
1/4 cup plus 1 cup All purpose flour
2 TBSP Mediterranean oil (mix oil of canola, grape seed & olive oil, I buy from Costco)
3 whole eggs plus 2 egg yolks

I only had time to allow my dough to rest for 1 hour. It rolled out so smoothly and it was so simple. My Mr.Tasteful is not a big pasta guy even though the man is from Long Island! However he said if he had to choose to eat pasta he rather have my fresh pasta then dried pasta.

I don’t have a food processor so I just mixed and kneaded the dough for two minutes after it was combined. I rolled it out with my simple rolling pin.

This is a must try!

20130317-160743.jpg

20130317-160758.jpg

20130317-160816.jpg

20130317-160833.jpg

Leave a Reply

