Banana Peanut Butter & Honey Muffins

IMG_3436

I love this muffin but most importantly so did my Little Cupcake and some of my friends who tried my muffins the next day. This muffin has the right amount of all the flavors, banana, peanut butter & honey. This recipe is not overly sweet. Its a great way to add protein to your day. It is so light and fluffy.

I bought a bunch of bananas for my Little Cupcake, which she ended up not eating! I also was trying out different brands of peanut butter. I am a HUGE fan of Trader Joes however their creamy peanut butter was not a hit with My little Cupcake. So I bought some Adams Peanut Butter which I grew up on myself. I enjoyed the peanut butter and my Little Cupcake ended up preferring it as well. She really prefers to eat the peanut butter off of a spoon, which is fine however creates a huge mess! I thought about mixing the peanut butter into the banana bread. Then I thought why not honey too? That was always a kids favorite sandwich my mom made for my brother and I. We weren’t allowed to have much sugar growing up through elementary school, so my mom used honey it lots of her cooking.

I wanted to use coconut oil. I really like how oil aids in a lighter batter compared to using all butter. I normally will use Canola Oil, which you can do if you don’t have coconut oil. When you compare the calories in coconut oil vs canola oil they both have 120 calories for 1 tablespoon of oil. Of course coconut oil has 12g of saturated fat compared to the 4g in canola oil. Coconut oil however has lots of attributes that aid to a healthy edition to any dish.

I decided to do some research and I came across an idea that I really loved from Americas Test Kitchen Banana Bread . They microwaved the bananas and drained the liquid to create a syrup. This idea releases some of the water from the banana and aids to allowing the bread not to be so dense. Okay, here is where I changed courses. I try not to use my microwave when it comes to cooking. I used the stove top and in my opinion the same amount of time it took ATK to get their results, I was able to achieve the same and easier plus I used up less pots and bowls.

I was concerned adding peanut butter to banana bread recipe was going to make it super dense. It could of,  however the proper ratios of baking powder, baking soda, and acid really aid to a balanced muffin. Therefore DO NOT SUBSTITUTE. It hurts me to say that, however when it comes to baking you can’t for good reason. I will indicate in the recipe where you can substitute or omit.

Banana Peanut Butter & Honey Muffins Recipe

Dry Ingredients

2 & 1/4 cups of unbleached white flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon (you can omit)

Wet Ingredients

1 whole jumbo egg

1 jumbo egg yolk

2 hipping tablespoons of sour cream (or use greek yogurt)

2 teaspoons of lemon juice

4 overly ripe bananas

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter (I used Adams No Stir Creamy Peanut Butter)

1 tablespoon of Virgin Coconut Oil OR Canola Oil

1/3 cup of melted butter

1/4 teaspoon of sea salt (if you use table salt use 1/8 tsp, unless you use peanut butter with no salt or unsalted butter)

1/2 cup of honey

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

Prepare the bananas:

Peel and cut bananas and place in a sauce pan with lemon juice. Cover pot with lid and heat bananas on a low heat. Once bananas start to extract liquid, about 5 min, smash bananas with a potaot masher or a fork. Do not place lid back on sauce pan. Cook bananas on a low medium heat so there is a slight simmer for another 5 min or until the bananas thicken to a thicker texture, comparable to baby food.

IMG_3395 IMG_3396 IMG_3402 IMG_3403 IMG_3404 IMG_3407 IMG_3408

 

In one bowl combine all Dry Ingredients  and whisk together until well combined.

IMG_3394

 

You now will use a separate bowl for the Wet Ingredients. Pleas follow the following steps:

  • Melt 1/3 cup of butter and let cool
  • Measure out 1 tablespoon of coconut oil (or canola oil) and place into melted butter, then place in bowl
  • using the same measuring cup you melted butter, measure out 1/2 cup of honey, then place in bowl
  • Measure out 3/4 cup of peanut butter, place in bowl
  • whisk 1 egg and 1 egg yolk (do not use two whole eggs) then place into bowl
  • measure out 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • add 2 hipping tablespoons of sour cream (hipping means: no need to scrap the top to be even with spoon)
  • Now whisk all together until well combined

IMG_3397 IMG_3399 IMG_3400 IMG_3401 IMG_3406 IMG_3405

Once the bananas have reached a thick consistence let bananas cools for 5 min, I place bananas in a separate bowl to cool down.

Then one large spoonful at a time whisk in bananas. You want to temper bananas into wet mixture just in case bananas are to hot, you don’t want to scramble eggs. OR just wait until bananas are completely cool and add at once. Once all the bananas are added to wet ingredients make sure it is well combined before folding into dry ingredients. You don’t want to over work the gluten and create a heavy batter.

IMG_3410

Combine dry ingredients and wet ingredients into one bowl. FOLD together, always making sure to scrap from the bottom to the top. It took me about 15 folds to combined together. You do not want to over work the flour, this will work the gluten.

IMG_3412 IMG_3413 IMG_3415

Mixture will be thick

Now pre heat oven to 350

I prefer to butter my muffin pan then oil. I do not use cupcake baking cups to place into muffin pan. I find this effects the rising of the muffin. (If you do not have muffin pan you could use a loaf pan, make sure to butter pan cooking time will be different). Scoop in enough batter to leave about 1/2 inch gap from top of pan. You will get about 12 muffins+.

IMG_3416 IMG_3417

Optional: Chop up walnut and sprinkle on top of each muffin then sprinkle a little white suagr.

IMG_3419

Once oven is heated to 350 place muffin pan in the middle of the oven and bake for 15 min. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 min, then pop out of muffin pan (I suggest using a fork) and place on a cooling rack. Let cool for an additional 10 min.

IMG_3421 IMG_3426 IMG_3428 IMG_3429 IMG_3437 IMG_3439

IMG_3430 IMG_3432

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

