Banana Boston Cream Pie Bites

IMG_3046

I was watching the Cooking Channel this past weekend and there is a show called “Eat St” that focuses on street food. In Portland Oregon (45 min from me) they have an amazing amount of Food Trucks, and when you come to Portland it is the place to go to try so many different foods. This past weekend there was a episode highlighting a food truck called “Pie Spot”. I was drooling!!! All weekend I was googling and searching for any tips on recreating a couple of their pie ideas. I did find a recipe for their Marion berry Pie on the Cooking Channel. Even though that looked very good, its not the season for those berries here in Oregon, of course I know what I will be making this summer. I wanted to try recreating their Peanut Butter & Chocolate Pie. Of course I found no help. As I was googling more yesterday about the “Pie Spot” you wont believe what re-aired?? The same episode from this past weekend. I was jumping up and down in excitement, you had to be there. I was going to take notes then I realized, “record, hello!!”

There was a pie they demonstrated for a Banana Fosters Pie. That got my taste buds all excited. Being very sick this past week not much seemed to appeal to me but sweets. They made this pie layered with banana, pastry cream, salted caramel drizzle, then another layer of banana and caramel, then topped off with whipping cream. I said “I will make that!” Of course their is no recipe given, just them demonstrating how to assemble it. Ugh!

So The rest of the day I was on a search how to make pastry cream. I am sure I could of bought some vanilla pudding. However my cooking journey is to teach myself new ideas and try things I would never have tried before. Plus I prefer to cook from scratch as often as I can. I did a bunch of research and almost every recipe out there is all the same…egg yolks, sugar and milk with a thickening binder like corn starch or flour. Some recipes called for 8-12 egg yolks. Ouch! That’s a lot of egg yolks and not good for my wallet! I came across a recipe from Joy of Baking (great website by the way) she only used 3 egg yolks. I watched her 10 min video demonstration and I realized this was easy! I decided to make some adjustments to the recipe and make it my own…as you know when there is a base for something every recipe looks the same.

Of course I realized I am missing some ingredients. I needed more butter to make my own pie crust, bananas and I needed milk for pastry cream. Being I don’t have my own car and hubby has it for work I had to wait for him to pick up the supplies. By this time its 5:00pm so I asked him to buy a pre-made pie dough. I just did not have the patience to start making pie dough that late in the day.

The Pie Spot makes hand size pie’s using a large muffin tin. I was going to make one large pie, then I realized why don’t I also use my muffin pan?? My muffin pan is not very deep, so they are on the smaller size, but are perfect bite size.

I then realized I forgot to ask Mr.Tasteful to buy me heavy whipping cream so I could make my own whipping cream. Ugh! So i realized I could not make a banana foster pie. What to do??? I want pie! I found some semi-chocolate chips in the back of my pantry and thought why not I make a chocolate ganache? This is how I came up with the idea for Banana Boston Cream Pie bites.

Pastry Cream:

*Tip: If you do not want to make your own pastry cream, buy a box of french vanilla pudding and follow directions on box.

1 cup of Milk (I used 2%)

1/2 cup of half & half cream (you could just use all milk if you don’t have cream)

1/3 to 1/2 cup of sugar (if you want your cream sweeter I recommend the 1/2 cup of sugar)

4 egg yolks (room temperature)

1 TBSP Flour

3 TBSP Corn Starch

2 TSP Vanilla Extract

3 TSP of Amaretto Liqueur

Dash of Salt (1/8 tsp or pinch with your fingers)

* This Pastry Cream is runny like a pudding.

Prep the egg yolks and suagr: In a steal or glass bowl. Separate egg yolks from egg whites, using only the egg yolk .(save egg whites for something else, stores in refrigerator for 2 days) Add sugar and egg yolk to bowl. Set aside.

Next in a small sauce pan add milk & cream and on a medium heat let milk come to a slight simmer.

Meanwhile while milk is heating. Whisk egg yolk and sugar together until combined. Then add salt, flour & corn starch (note: do not mix the egg yolks and sugar together to early, you don’t want it to sit for a long period of time. Try to do this step within 5 min or less while milk heats up)

Once milk has been heated, slowly, I mean slowly add a small stream of milk to egg mixture and at the same time whisking constantly. You don’t want the eggs to scramble. You need to “temper” the egg yolks. Once all the milk has been added to the egg yolks. Add mixture back into sauce pan. On a low heat whisk constantly together until starts to thicken. Once mixture starts to thicken remove from heat and keep whisking for about 1 min. If you find you have chunks, you can put through a mesh stainer to remove chunks.

Now you can add your flavorings, vanilla extract & the amaretto liquor, whisk together until well combined.

Let mixture cool for about 5 min in a glass bowl. Place a layer of plastic wrap over cream. Make sure plastic wrap touches the cream. This keep a skin from developing. Let cream cool in the fridge for about 1-2 hours, or until cool.

IMG_2990 IMG_2991 IMG_2992 IMG_2993 IMG_2994IMG_2997 IMG_2998 IMG_2999

Chocolate Ganache

1 cup semi-chocolate chips

1/2 cup of half & half cream

2 & 1/2 TBSP of butter

In a sauce pan combine chocolate chips, butter and half & half. On a low medium heat once chocolate starts to melt make sure your whisking constantly, this step will happen fast. Do not let chocolate burn. Remove from heat and keep whisking together until completely melted. Place chocolate into a glass dish to cool.

IMG_3009 IMG_3010 IMG_3014

Other Ingredients

1 pre-made pie dough (I bought mine from Trader Joes, comes with 2 sheets of pie dough. Of course you can make your own)

2 Bananas

1 can of 7-up

Tip: The pastry cream & chocolate ganache will be enough for one large pie if you rather make one pie, I would recommend 3 bananas for that. You can can make up to 24 pie bites depending on size of muffin pan. If you want to make 24 pie bites, use 2 pie dough sheets. If you only want 12 bites one sheet of pie dough should be enough depending on size of cookie cutter. My cookie/biscuit cutter measured 4inches. I think 6 inches would of been perfect for my muffin pan, however 4 inches is just the right size too.

I recommend this as a “day ahead” recipe, or start early in the day. You need lots of time for everything to cool and set. I made these last night and the next morning, perfect!!

Make pastry cream first, becasue it needs time to cool before assembly, at least 1 hour. While pastry cream is cooling, bake pie crust cups. Once pastry cream is cool and pie crust is cool, make chocolate ganache. Let ganache cool at least 10 min before assembly (do not place in refrigerator, let cool on counter in a glass dish).

Assembly

First:

-Defrost Pie dough.

Tip: If your dough breaks up like mine did, don’t worry! Just press it together and lightly flour dough, then take a roller pin and roll it to tighten back up into one piece.

-Then lightly flour dough and cut out shapes with biscuit cutter. When you cut your dough into pieces you will only get about 7 pieces. Take excess dough and reshape dough together, then lightly flour and roll out pie dough so you can then cut. I had to do this a couple times. I was able to get 12 cuts from one sheet of pie dough.

-Line each muffin with one pie cut, making sure pie cut reaches the bottom of pan and sides go up.

-Then take a fork and stab the dough a couple times on the bottom. This will help insure the middle of dough does not puff up. I recommend lining each pie dough with a small square of foil on top, pressing foil down so it lays flat at the bottom. Then place a couple pennies in the bottom of pie slot. This will keep the pie from puffing. I did not do this, so a few of mine puffed up in the middle, I only remembered to do this step once it was to late.

-Place pan into a pre-heated 425 degree oven. Bake for 5-7 min, or until golden brown or no raw spots in dough.

-Once cooked completely, remove and let cool for 1 min. Then remove each pie cup and place on a cooling rack.

IMG_3001 IMG_3002 IMG_3003 IMG_3004 IMG_3005 IMG_3006 IMG_3007 IMG_3008 IMG_3012

Second: Slice bananas thinly and place in a bowl with 7-up. Let soak for at least 5 min. (Thanks to my friend Cinderella of 3 for sharing that tip she found on Pinterest)

IMG_3015 IMG_3016

Third: Once Pie Crust Bites have cooled completely they are ready for assembly. Start with layering a couple of slices of banana on the bottom of each pie cup.

IMG_3017

Third: Then layer about 1 TSP or more (about half way up in the cup) of pastry cream over banana

IMG_3018

Forth: Layer another slice of banana over pastry cream

IMG_3020

Fifth: Place pie bites on a cooling rack

Sixth: Then start pouring chocolate ganache in the middle of pie, and let it spill over the sides if you want.IMG_3028

Seventh: Layer each pie bites with a slice of banana

Tip: If you are going to do this the day ahead, I recommend not adding the last banana on top. Even though the 7-up did a good job keeping banana going brown I think waiting until next day would be good, but not necessary! Of course you may need to add a little chocolate ganache in the middle to keep banana from falling off.

IMG_3029

Eighth: The place bites in refrigerator so set. You should wait at least 1-2 hours before serving. I highly recommend overnight or 4-6 hours.

IMG_3035IMG_3040

Leave a Reply

