Coffee Creamer – homemade & all natural

I saw this pin on Pinterest for Coffee Creamer, which got me so excited!
I had never bought the flavored coffee creamers until a dear friend “Snow White” came to share some cinnamon rolls & coffee one afternoon. She brought a White Chocolate coffee creamer and I was in an enchanted day dream when I took a sip of my coffee. The dark clouds parted the sun beamed through the windows and the birds started to chirp away. In that moment I felt that feeling you get when u are treated to a latte from my favorite cafe.
Little extreme? No! It was honestly a great moment, especially for a stay at home mom who doesn’t get a latte very often.

So I was addicted! I bought my own coffee creamer and for a week I was having a treat everyday. Then one day my bubble was burst! My mama bear told me about another friend who uses the coffee creamer as her “splurge”. Her & her husband are very fit ppl into fitness & diet. So I cringed when I looked at the back of the coffee creamer. It wasn’t because of the 35 calories per TBSP it was for the ingredient “partially hydrated” oil.

That is a big no no for me. When I was on a mission years ago to loose weight after a failed pregnancy I did lots of research on calories and ingredients that are most damaging. This is one of the worst ingredients to put in your body especially if you are interested in not putting on weight. Now I’m not so strict that I will never eat/drink a product with this ingredient but I know I can’t make it a regular or daily practice.

So I had a choice do I just go back to my half & half or try something else? I saw trader joes had a brand of a lactose free vanilla coffee creamer…oh my word gag me with a spoon!! I do not like it!! There is another brand I want to try by Darigold it is all natural flavored coffee creamer that uses real cream, so I may try that however it’s not lactose free, which isn’t a bad thing I just thought it be nice to try.

So as I’m flipping through Pinterest I see a pin for a homemade coffee creamer here is the link for recipe please click here

It’s two simple ingredients for the base

Milk & Sweeten Condensed milk. Now that sounded reasonable to me however depending on the brand of sweet condensed milk depends on if there is partially hydrated oil.

If your don’t want to click on the link above, below is the recipe found from “Cookin with Super Pickle”

BASE:
1 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk (she even has a recipe for making your own from scratch) or 1 & 1/2 cups
2 cups milk

Trader Joes has a organic sweet condensed milk in a plastic container for $2.00. I’m sure if you don’t have a Trader Joes you can find some at your local health food store.

20130114-091918.jpg

My other thought on this recipe was not to use milk. Milk spoils fast. I think using half & half would be more logical if you want the pre-made creamer to last longer then a week. I use a brand from Costco that is treated without hormones. In my house half & half last 30 days. So as long as my mixture smells and taste good my theory is the pre-made coffee creamer with half & half will last longer in the refrigerator.

I also thought if you wanted to make this a non dairy  product use “soy, almond or even coconut milk” instead of half & half.  It wont last longer then a week, but what a great cost effect wave to make your own “latte” or flavor your coffee drink. Of course sweetened condensed milk is not lactose free, unless you buy a a pre-made brand that is. You could make your own, here is a great recipe from Cathy’s Kitchen Journey: Dairy Free Sweeten Condensed milk.

There are several ideas for mixing flavors.

A couple of her ideas for adding flavoring are

Caramel Vanilla:
2 TB caramel ice cream topping
1 tsp vanilla

Peppermint Mocha:
2 TB chocolate syrup
1 tsp peppermint extract

Trader Joes has a organic chocolate syrup that I would rather use to continue keeping this pre made coffee creamer all natural. The other idea used is extracts to add flavoring which is a great idea. She has a few other ideas that require using coco powder or cinnamon, which I do not like only because that is going to give off a grainy drink. Of course there is always the option of buying a bottle of your favorite coffee syrup flavor you find at your local coffee cafe. Just keep in mind your creamer will be a little more costly BUT its still less expensive over time then spending $4.00 on your latte.

20130114-092003.jpg

2 thoughts on “Coffee Creamer – homemade & all natural

  1. Hi! I found this on pinterest. I halved the recipe, used
    tjs condenced organic sweetened milk, and tjs light coconut milk.
    Added a tablespoon of homemade vanilla extract, and a teaspoon
    almond extract.,,tastes amazing! I put it in my clean creamer
    bottle. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

