Quick Dish: Orange & Garlic Carrots – tasty side dish

20130109-152344.jpg

When I want a fast and yummy side dish, something other then green beans or corn. I love sautéed carrots! You can serve this side dish with any meal, roast, chicken, pork or fish.

I am not a fan of frozen carrots, ill eat them, if you have feel free to use. You can use baby carrots if that’s what you have. I’m all about buying one type of item that I can use in many dishes therefore I just buy plain old carrots, organic preferred.

One of goals for healthy eating is in small areas. I may not be able to buy organic everything but I do try to always buy organic carrots. Why? Well there are a few reasons to buy organic but for this post I will focus on two reasons. One organic carrots taste great, they are sweet and have much more flavor. So if you start out with a good carrot your dish will taste better. The other reason, there are more nutritional benefits. This is one area I will spend the extra money for produce.

On a side note my other goal is to buy organic potatoes, because I use potatoes in everything. There are over 200 varieties of potatoes and you could sustain your life just eating various potatoes for all dietary needs. I’m working on that next!

One advantage of using regular carrots is I can slice them thin. If you are using baby carrots you could slice carrots in half for faster cooking.

4 large carrots sliced 1/2 inch thick
3 cloves of garlic
1/2 tSp of brown sugar
Juice & zest of 2 small oranges. (You could use 1/4 cup of orange juice if that’s what you have).
Salt & Pepper to taste
Dash of Dried Thyme
Onion powder (if no onions slice up some fresh onions)
Parsley fresh or dried
1 tBs Butter
1 tSp olive oil

Heat sauté pan on a medium heat, once pan hot add butter & oil & thyme, once butter had melted add carrots and onion powder, salt & pepper. If using dried parsley you can add now. If fresh save for later.

Make sure carrots are evenly spread in the pan, this will allow carrots to get a nice brown color. Let cook on a medium heat for 5 min or longer until you get a golden caramelized color.

20130109-150557.jpg

20130109-150658.jpg

20130109-150810.jpg

Once carrots have a nice caramelized color toss in pan to flip carrots. Then add diced garlic and orange juice & zest of orange. Let cook for 1 min then add brown sugar. Let sauté for another 5 to 7 min on a medium low heat.

20130109-151407.jpg

Once orange juice as reduced test a carrot. These carrots have a slight crunch (depending on how large your slices are). If need continue to sauté and turn temp down to low.

20130109-151932.jpg

Serve with your yummy meal.

20130109-152151.jpg

5 thoughts on “Quick Dish: Orange & Garlic Carrots – tasty side dish

  1. Made these tonight! Seriously the best carrots ever! I used honey instead of the brown sugar and oranges. I was sad I didn’t have more carrots on hand lol!

Leave a Reply

