Dark Chocolate Cake

20121221-192311.jpg

Last night we were watching OBP about Oregon Artist, the show featured a few different pieces on local food pieces. One was of a baker and her quirky cake design. There was a picture of her chocolate cake and my Mr.Tasteful says “that’s how I like my chocolate cake nice & dark”. Now I was surprised because I never associated chocolate cake with Mr.Tasteful, he’s been more passionate about other deserts. Now my brother in-law “The Beast”, I know he loves chocolate cake. Couple months ago I made my first attempt using Ina Gartens chocolate cake recipe. For my first cake I was happy, but it needed work. So I found another recipe and again I needed to make more adjustments to fit my expectations of what it should taste like.

This chocolate cake is a tender and fudge cake. I’m sure quality if ingredients can play a roll in the intensity of the chocolate cake. I went with what was reasonably inexpensive ingredients. I can’t be buying some fancy coco powder online or fancy chocolate bars. If you can, go ahead. I’m sure however if you are reading this blog you might be looking for bargain recipes. The cake ingredients cost me $2.40, is that more expensive then a boxed cake? Yes, for some brands. But if you want a great recipe that’s used basic pantry ingredients it’s worth making your own. You will feel like you just spent $6 for one slice of cake at some Restruant. So from that stand point even with frosting at $1.50, a total if $3.90 for a cake that feeds 6-8, is a bargain!

Back to my story about my Mr.Tasteful and him liking a dark cake, that was my mission. I started recalling his favorite cake was German Chocolate Cake, also my Mama Bears favorite cake. For our wedding cake Mr.Tasteful choose the German chocolate cake as the bottom tier. It was an amazing bakery, if only I could recall name. How could I forget all these details?? I blame it on my mommy brain and I don’t recall Mr.Tasteful having cake but in our wedding day 14 years ago. So this is my tribute to my Mr.Tasteful.

Notes:
Frosting: I want to make my own frosting next time. I used Betty Crocker, and it was not my preference. Use whatever frosting you like.

Chocolate: I used Nestlé dark chocolate bakers bar, 62%. I know there are higher coco content but this was a reasonable price for a 4oz bar.

20121221-202835.jpg

Coco Powder: I bought from my bulk grocery store section, not sure of brand.

Cooling rack: This is one of those must have kitchen tools. You can use it for other things other then just a cooling rack, such as when you are roasting or oven frying chicken or home fries.

Coffee: I personally think a good quality coffee is important is adding and enhancing flavor to chocolate. I use Starbucks dark French roast coffee beans and ground the beans fresh myself. I also think brewing a strong batch is important. This is what’s going to be your “secret weapon” for making this the best cake you have made.

Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
1 round 9 inch cake pan (2 inch deep) serves 6-8

2 oz dark chocolate bakers bar finely chopped
2/3 cup hot brewed coffee
1 cup sugar
1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt plus a pinch (about 1/8 tsp)
1 large egg
¼ cup canola oil
½ cup sour cream
1 & 1/4tsp tsp vanilla extract
1 tbs coco powder- for dusting

Pre-heat oven to 350

Line bottom of cake pan with parchment paper, grease down pan with butter on bottom and sides. Instead of using flour use coco powder, about 1 tBs or more as needed. I used beans to flatten parchment paper and fold sides over. I did this to give my Little Cupcake some fun, then she played with it in a separate dish. You can just use a pencil and line around then cut.

20121221-202006.jpg

20121221-202027.jpg

20121221-202124.jpg

Remove egg and let it get to room temperature, you can place uncracked egg in a glass of warm water to speed up this processes.

Take finely chopped dark chocolate bar and mix together with hot coffee. Let sit and melt, stirring occasionally until well combined.

20121221-202305.jpg

In one bowl sift together flour, coco powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt & sugar. Then whisk together until well combined.

20121221-202447.jpg

In another bowl take egg and bled until pale yellow, about 1 or 2 min. Then add sour cream, vanilla, melted chocolate and oil and whisk together well.

Whisk together wet ingredients slowly into flour mixture until well combined.

20121221-202546.jpg

Pour into cake pan.

20121221-202657.jpg

Place cake pan on a cookie sheet. Place in oven and bake for 30 min, or until done. Check by inserting a knife or tooth pick into the middle, if clean, cake done.

Let cool in pan for 10-15 min. Then scrap knife along the sides of pan to make sure cake is not attached. Then place cooling rack ontop and flip over. If you previously buttered pan, floured & used parchment paper, should remove perfectly. Let cool until cake is cool, about 1-2hrs. Then frost. Sprinkles were just so my Little Cupcake could have fun helping and decorating.

20121221-203010.jpg

20121221-203035.jpg

20121221-203051.jpg

20121221-203112.jpg

20121221-203122.jpg

Leave a Reply

